Our Team

The Staff

Beth Sorrell (Executive Director)

Beth has always had a passion for serving others and community development. After serving in the Peace Corps in East Africa and pursuing a Masters degree in Public Health, she came back to the WNC mountains. She started as a volunteer with Ashe Habitat around 2012 and soon joined the board, where she eventually served as President, VP and even treasurer. She has been working as their part-time director since fall 2022.

JB Byrch (Construction Supervisor)

JB Byrch studied Building Science at Appalachian State University, is a licensed General contractor and has felt called to help people through construction since coming to faith as a teenager. He is passionate about what we do at Ashe Habitat and hopes to make your volunteer experience a meaningful one.

Mae Hacking (ReStore Manager)

Mae has spent most of her career in customer service oriented fields. She loves serving the community of Ashe, and is always happy to help customers in our ReStore with any questions or concerns.

Niels Nickelson (ReStore Associate)

Niels originally started volunteering with Habitat after moving to Ashe County. Looking for ways to get involved in the community, he began volunteering on the jobsite building houses. When the ReStore Associate job opened up, he was thrilled to become more involved. He wants to devote his life to helping others, and working here is a wonderful opportunity to do that!

The Board of Directors

  • President – Christine Franklin
  • Vice President – Jerry Spangler
  • Treasurer – Doug Matney
  • Secretary – Lauren Essick
  • Jeff Vestal
  • Kent Zotter
  • Roger Perry
  • Bob Rogers
  • Walt Petersen (Emeritus)

The Committees

  • Family Services (Christine Franklin, chair)
  • Construction (Terry Monroe, chair)
  • Resource Development (Beth Sorrell, chair)
  • ReStore (Jeannie Tygielski, chair)
  • Human Resources (Bob Rogers, chair)